Friday, May 25, 2007

Time to rant about sports...

THE HANCOCK LAWSUIT: It's a tragedy that Josh's family has to go through the loss of a son, and I am sure that they are grieving about it, but this lawsuit seems wrong. I hate to say it, but it seems based on the evidence that we have that it was Josh Hancock's fault. We need to take responsibility for our own actions. I know it's a natural human tendency to try to deflect blame (I am guilty of this sin), but this is ridiculous. I mean, he was drunk, had weed in his car, and was driving 13 mph over the speed limit.

If any money is won by the family in this affair, imagine the precedent it would send.... don't worry about making some bad decisions. You can always blame somebody else!


GIAMBI AND STEROIDS: I have not been a fan of Jason Giambi since he joined the Yankees. But baseball's reaction to his statements last week are unacceptable. He admits to using "that stuff" and asks others to ask for forgiveness, and baseball rebukes him? The same people who turned the other way when steroids were being used and only started investigating a couple years ago now criticize Giambi for admittance and for asking people to simply tell the truth. I cannot believe that.


"I WILL NOT BE THE ALABAMA COACH:" Nick Saban denied to the Miami Dolphins, who paid him $5 million per year, that he would not be the Alabama coach. Then he turns around weeks later and takes the job. Is it any surprise now that he's being investigated for illegal contact with recruits? Talk about people that you cannot trust...